2018 Program

Welcome to the sixth annual Melbourne WebFest! 2018 will be our biggest program to date, packed with some of the best web series from Australia and around the world, conference panels, workshops, masterclasses, keynotes, #Pitchiview and awards. See you there!


Networking event, 6pm-9pm
@ Jasper Hotel, 489 Elizabeth St
Ticketed Event

Join us for the official opening of the sixth annual Melbourne WebFest. Featuring keynote by Julie Kalceff, creator of one of Australia’s most successful and longest-running web series, Starting From Now. The series has amassed a staggering 100 million views.

Drinks and light catering provided.


9pm – late
@ Loch and Key, 34 Franklin St.
Ticketed event


Workshops 9.30am – 5pm
@ La Trobe University City Campus, Level 2, 
360 Collins Street

Workshops and masterclasses.


6pm – 10pm @ Village Roadshow Theatrette, State Library of Victoria

Screenings of our International and Australia Spotlight Selections, and our annual showcase of student web series.

Full details of workshops, screening blocks and run sheet for the day here. 


9.45am – 7.30pm @ Village Roadshow Theatrette, State Library of Victoria
Ticketed event

Three official selection screening blocks. Conference panels on diversity and audiences. And Pitch iview is BACK! There will be an opportunity to submit wildcard entries for attendees during the festival too. Keep your eyes peeled!
Full details of screening blocks and run sheet for the day here. 


7.30pm – LATE @ Loch & Key, 34 Franklin St.

Ticketed event – open to all ticket holders.

After a long day of screenings and pitches we’ll rendezvous and debrief at Loch & Key, only 4-5 minutes stroll from the State Library. We have a reserved area! Open to all ticketholders. 


9.45am – 5.30pm @ Village Roadshow Theatrette, State Library of Victoria
Ticketed event

Three screening blocks. Two conference panels on screenwriting and “blockbuster” web series.

Full details of screening blocks and runsheet for the day here. 



7pm – 10pm @ Deakin Edge, Fed Square
Ticketed event
Join us for the sixth annual Melbourne WebFest Awards, hosted by Dean Haglund of X-Files and Shakespeare Republic fame. This is an awards ceremony with a difference. No boring acceptance speeches. No long lists of thank yous. Expect the unexpected. This is awards done right, done fun.

Free drink on entry provided by Colonial Brewing Company.


10pm – LATE @ Beer Deluxe, Fed Square
Ticketed event
After the gala awards, we move to the party to Beer Deluxe (upstairs). Let your hair down, help us celebrate the award winners and the successful completion of the sixth anniversary of Australia’s international web series festival.
Note: The After Party is open to all ticket holders, including those with single session tickets.

Buy Tickets

Official Selections

  • Antarktika (GER)
  • Spike and Dadda (AUS)
  • Swift and Loose (AUS)
  • This is Desmondo Ray! (AUS)
Australian Comedy
  • Aunty Donna The Album
  • Aussie Rangers
  • Freudian Slip
  • Goons Inc
  • Homecoming Queens
  • Kiki and Kitty
  • Plonk
  • Sexy Herpes
  • Small town Hackers
  • The Circle
  • These New South Whales
  • Wine
International Comedy
  • Alice in Paris (FRA)
  • City Girl (USA)
  • Clusterf*ck (CAN)
  • Hooked (ITA)
  • Language Academy (USA)
  • Mortus Corporatus (FRA)
  • Other People’s Children (USA)
  • Psusy (NZL)
  • Save Me (CAN)
  • Technically Single (GER)
Australian Drama
  • Event Zero
  • Jade of Death
  • Other Peoples Problems
  • Patricia Moore
  • Skinford
  • The Big Nothing
International Drama
  • A Fine Mistery (ITA)
  • Arena (BRA)
  • Burkland (BEL)
  • Confess (ISR)
  • Counting Mx. Gye (KOR)
  • Crimetube (ITA)
  • Ink (FRA)
  • It’s Not That Simple (IND)
  • Man-O (CAN)
  • Natural Selection (COL)
  • Nemausus FRA)
  • Played (CAN)
  • Random Season 2 (FRA)
  • The Y Theory (GER)
  • Wishlist 2.0 (GER)
  • Woke (FRA)
Australian Non-Fiction
  • Hitting Zero
  • Housemates
  • Prisoners and Pups
  • Women of the island
International Non-Fiction
  • Chinese Dream (GER)
  • Homo Digitalis (GER)
  • Iran #NoFilter (FRA)
  • Poi Hopes and Dreams (NZL)
  • Small Talk (CAN)
  • Zombie Ztories (FRA)


Best Cinematography
  • Patricia Moore Tania Lambert
  • Skinford Kieran Fowler & Carl Robertson
  • Alice in Paris Thibaud Paul Martin
  • Ink Laurent King
  • Natural Selection Andrés Hernández
  • The Big Nothing Claire Bishop
Best Directing
  • Patricia Moore Blake Fraser
  • Skinford Nik Kacevski
  • Homecoming Queens Corrie Chen
  • A Fine Mistery Nicola Martini
  • Iran #NoFilter Valérie Urréa & Nathalie Masduraud
  • Other Peoples Problems Erin White
Best Editing
  • This is Desmondo Ray! Steve Baker
  • Patricia Moore Margi Hoy
  • Skinford Kent Hau
  • Alice in Paris Thibaud Paul Martin
  • Natural Selection Miguel Gallego
  • Nemausus Quentin Uriel
Best Lead Actor or Ensemble
  • Technically Single Alina Stiegler – Juli
  • Homecoming Queens Liv Hewson – Chloe
  • Patricia Moore Marlo Kelly – Patricia Moore
  • The Circle Rebecca Gibney – Tonni & Felix Williamson – Lesley
  • Kiki and Kitty Nakkiah Lui – Kiki
  • Woke Mehdi Meskar – Hicham
Best Production Design
  • This is Desmondo Ray! Christopher Cox
  • Technically Single Tamara Hauer
  • Mortus Corporatus Benjamin Lavarone
  • Goons Inc Fury Fingers
  • Event Zero Rachele Wiggins
  • Alice in Paris ToDo Films
Best Score
  • Patricia Moore David Chapman
  • Skinford Michael Lira
  • Woke Franck Lebon
  • The Circle Wes Carr
  • A Fine Mistery Francesco Ceraci
  • Burkland François Fripiat
Best Screenplay
  • Homecoming Queens Chloe Reeson and Michelle Law
  • Technically Single Sebastian Stojetz
  • Homo Digitalis Christiane Miethge & Nils Otte
  • Patricia Moore Blake Fraser
  • Iran #NoFilter Valérie Urréa & Nathalie Masduraud
  • These New South Whales Jamie Timony, Todd Andrews & Ben Timony
Best Sound Design
  • Patricia Moore Derek Allan
  • Aunty Donna The Album Thomas Armstrong
  • Technically Single Andrew Mottl
  • This is Desmondo Ray! Luke Mynott
  • Event Zero Sasha Zastavnikovic
  • Mortus Corporatus Tamara Demichelo
Best Supporting Actor
  • Homecoming Queens John McNeill – Geoffrey
  • Technically Single Maria Furtwängler
  • Patricia Moore Danielle Cormack – Marnie Moore
  • The Circle Ensemble (Brooke Nicole-Lee, Andrea Moor, Chris Haywood, Charlotte Carr & Rory Williamson)
  • Wine Ensemble (Jackson Gallagher, Ryan Shelton, Johnathon Schuster, Sam Wtkins)
  • Mortus Corporatus Sarah Carlini – Lucile
Best Visual/Special Effects
  • Skinford Evan Whiteside
  • This is Desmondo Ray! Joe Lancaster & Steve Baker
  • Event Zero Evan Whiteside & Cecil B.
  • Played Andy kloske, Tim Kloske, Graham Gibbard, Peter Guzda and Ryota Suyama
  • The Big Nothing Peter Ninos
  • Mortus Corporatus Virgil Vergues
Grand Jury Award
    The winner of the Grand Jury Award will receive a $1,500 cash prize.