2016 Jury

John Cabrera (US)


John Cabrera has worked for over a decade as a writer, producer, director, and actor at the Hollywood studio level, as well as across a range of newly renovated and brand new areas of the Entertainment Industry. He was a member of the supporting cast of NBC's Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip and The CW's Gilmore Girls.
In 2006, Cabrera shifted his focus exclusively towards writing, producing and directing and was a finalist in NBC's director in training program that same year. He went on to co-create the award winning series H+: The Digital Series, which was developed at Warner Brothers under the guidance of Bryan Singer and his team of producers at Bad Hat Harry Productions.
Since then, Cabrera has worked with a variety of studios and media companies under his brand moniker, Unboiled, developing projects for both traditional and digital mediums.

Nick Forward

Content & Product Director, Stan.

Nick Forward is Stan’s Content & Product Director. He joined the company as employee no. 3 in January 2014, and built the content strategy for the service. Nick oversees all aspects of content acquisition and commissioning, programming, customer service and product management.
Nick left his home town of Melbourne to spend over a decade working in media/entertainment in London prior to joining Stan. He spent five years at Virgin Media in a variety of roles, including Editor in Chief for the business’s suite of content products, and, as Director of TV Product, managing the UK’s second largest Pay TV platform. Previously Nick worked in the Entertainment and Marketing divisions at BSkyB.

Sally O’Donoghue

Manager, ABC iview

Sally O’Donoghue is manager of ABC iview. iview remains the most popular internet TV service of all free-to-air networks, recording more than 40 million program plays each month.
During Sally’s time leading product development and editorial output at iview, the service has continued to break new ground with multiple digital-first program commissions and initiatives unearthing new on and off-screen talent. Sally’s background in internet broadcasting spans a decade, having held senior product and editorial roles at BSkyB and Virgin Media UK before joining ABC TV in 2011.
Previous to her career in television, Sally spent a decade working with commercial radio networks in creative roles, having completed post-graduate studies at Swinburne University of Technology.

Grant Scicluna


Grant Scicluna is the award-winning writer director of DOWNRIVER, a mystery film that will screen in Australian cinemas in June 2016 after official selections at the Toronto International Film Festival and Melbourne International Film Festival. Grant's short films include HURT'S RESCUE, THE WILDING, NEON SKIN and GOLDEN GIRL. THE WILDING premiered at the Berlin Film Festival, won the world’s largest LGBT Short film prize, The Iris Prize, in 2012 and the MQFF City of Melbourne Award for Best Australian Short Queer Film. NEON SKIN won the NFSA Orlando Award for Best Queer Australian Short 2011. Grant created and mentored the MQFF Community Film Project which won the Diversity Award at Melbourne Web Fest in 2013.

Heather Maltman


At the age of five Heather Maltman knew she wanted to work in the arts when she put on a play for the local kids, and wrote herself the role of a high-class dinner guest who burped all her dialogue. Heather started The Maltman Lab back in 2008 where she cut her teeth freelance producing for Disney Commercials, and then moved into making her own films and webseries not long after. Soon to be released is her short film A Skype Exchange (Starring herself, Aaron Glenane, Stephen Hunter). She is better known for her work on TV as a host and actress in IAC Now and on radio doing the Hit Networks Summer breakfast radio show with Osher Gunsberg.

Kelly Lefever


One of Australia’s most accomplished television writers, Kelly has written over 60 hours of television and Script produced, Script Edited, Story lined, and Story Edited more than 600 hours of TV for every free to air network in the country. Her feature film credits include The Black Balloon and Roy Hollsdotter Live, and multiple award winning short films. Shows and films with which she has been involved have been awarded; Logies, AFI’s, Berlin’s Crystal Bear and Panorama awards, IF awards, Chicago Film Festival “Hugo’s”, the Dendy Award, and AWGIES to name a few...
Kelly is the co-creator, Script producer and head writer of the SBS 2x 6 part mini series The Circuit.

Michael Cusack


Michael Cusack has been drawing cartoons and making backyard movies since he was a kid. In 2010 at age 19, Cusack directed/co-produced and raised his own money to fund his first feature film “All Night Gaming”. Cusack achieved some internet success in 2012 when he released his vulgar animated short-film “YOLO” which went viral with over 7 million views on YouTube. In 2014 Cusack made and released the cartoon “Ciggy Butt Brain” which was very popular in Australia and kicked off the ongoing web-series “Damo And Darren”.

Sue Turnbull


Sue Turnbull is Professor of Communication and Media Studies at the University of Wollongong and Discipline Leader for the Creative Industries. Her recent publications include The TV Crime Drama (2014), and her current ARC Discovery Project is entitled 'Border Crossings: The Transnational Career of the TV Crime Drama’.

Travis Rice

Content Director, LENS

Travis Rice, is an immersive cinema curator with a focus on emerging technologies and their place in the real and virtual worlds. He has organized major contemporary art exhibitions around the world, worked with both Apple and Blizzard and is currently based in Sydney, Australia where he is helping LENS to define the future of immersive storytelling.

Enzo Tedeschi


Enzo Tedeschi is an award-winning filmmaker known for his bold approaches to emerging media and online content. His body of work includes feature films, feature documentaries, scripted episodic content and short films as a Producer, Writer, Editor and Director. The controversial documentary Food Matters (2008) and its sequel, Hungry For Change (2012) reached more than 500,000. The Tunnel (2011), a horror film that reached a global audience of 15 million, garnered Enzo and co-creator Julian Harvey the Screen Producers Association of Australia Award for Breakthrough Independent Producers Of The Year in 2011. The adventure documentary The Crossing (2012), won the Audience Award at Sydney Film Festival. Enzo also created both the multiple award-winning series Event Zero and Airlock. The latter is a science fiction series that has sold to several European territories and hit the screens of SyFy Channel in 2016.